Bank of Japan, also called the BoJ, is Japan’s central bank that is headquartered in the business district of Nihonbashi in Tokyo. The bank is responsible for issuing and handling currency and treasury securities, implementing monetary policy, maintaining the stability of the Japanese financial system, and providing settling and clearing services.

Like most central banks, the Bank of Japan also compiles and aggregates economic data and produces economic research and analysis.

<< Back to Glossary Index