The eurozone crisis, also called the European debt crisis or the European sovereign debt crisis, is a multi-year debt crisis that has been taking place in the European Union since the end of 2009. Some eurozone member states (Greece, Portugal, Ireland, Spain and Cyprus) were unable to repay the money they borrowed from other eurozone member countries.

<< Back to Glossary Index